Sunset

Yesterday, as most days are, was very busy. Yesterday was the first of six days that I’ve taken off of work to do some Fall cleaning around the house and begin decorating for Christmas. I love the holiday season, so I like to start as soon as possible.

Jonas and I finally made it out to the running trail at about 5 pm, with not much sunlight left. I knew that I had to hurry!
I set out on the trail for my 1/4 mile walking warm up.  There was another lady walking and a lady running.  The walking lady and I discussed getting our exercise in before dark and coyotes.  We’ve both seen a few out there before.  My husband later told me that being scared of a coyote is like being scared of a bird because coyotes would rather have nothing to do with people.

I finished my warm up and began running.  The other runner-girl had about an eighth of a mile, maybe more, lead on me.  I knew that I had to hurry in order to finish before darkness fell.  There was a nice breeze and the orange, blue, grey, purple sunset sky was a beautiful backdrop to my evening run.

About a half-mile in, something amazing happened.  Something that hasn’t happened in at least a couple of years for me, if ever.  I passed the runner-girl that started out ahead of me!  Jogging stroller and all! I passed her!  It was an amazing feeling.  I was powering through that run.

The sun slowly faded below the horizon.  At about 1.25 miles there wasn’t much daylight left at all.  I powered through.  The two other ladies who started out around the same time as me were impossible to see behind me.  It was getting darker.  I finally finished my two miles with a tiny strip of orangey-purple left on the horizon and a time of  22:10!!  My best time so far!

We walked our quarter-mile cool-down back to the car and I did my post run stretch.  There was no daylight left.  Night had come and I was feeling great about my accomplishments!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Robbie
    Nov 13, 2010 @ 18:50:41

    Way to go Rachel! Proud of you and enjoy reading your blogs!! Keep on running toward your goals!!

    Reply

  2. Vern Myers
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 18:19:30

    It’s a great feeling to find that you’re running stronger and quicker, isn’t it?

    Reply

  3. runtobefit
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 10:34:04

    Hope the running is still going great!! I have to admit the holidays were hard, but I am finally getting back on track. Keep it up!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Running Training Log
Brighter Planet's 350 Challenge
